PsySR Awards

The Anthony J. Marsella Prize

PsySRPsySR’s Anthony J. Marsella Prize for the Psychology of Peace and Social Justice is given annually to recognize outstanding psychology-based contributions in scholarship and action by an individual in one or more of the following areas: Peace and Nonviolence, Poverty, Human Rights, Humanitarian Assistance, Spirituality, and Social Action.

Past Award Winners:
2005   Dr. Diane Bretherton, LaTrobe University, Australia
2006   Dr. Marc Pilisuk, Saybrook Graduate School, San Francisco
2007   Dr. Michael Knox, University of South Florida, Tampa
2008   Dr. Floyd Rudmin, University of Tromsø, Norway
2009   Dr. Jean Maria Arrigo, Irvine, California
2010   Dr. Robert Jay Lifton, Cambridge, Massachusetts
2011   Dr. Ervin Staub, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
2012   Dr. Paula Green, Karuna Center for Peacebuilding
2014   Dr. Roy Eidelson, Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
2015   Dr. Trudy Bond, Toledo, Ohio and Dr. Kathie Malley-Morrison, Boston, Massachusetts
2016   Dr. Nahid Aziz, Dr. Jancis Long, and Dr. Luisa Saffiotti, Washington, DC
2017   Dr. Brad Olson, Chicago, Illinois and Antonio Carlos da Silva Rosa, Portugal

Friends and colleagues have created an endowment to fund the prize in recognition of Professor Marsella’s lifetime achievements (see a biographical sketch HERE). The prize is administered by Psychologists for Social Responsibility and is awarded annually.

For information about how to make a tax-deductible contribution to the Marsella Prize, please send an email to [email protected].